About

So what is LaunchCode?

LaunchCode is a nonprofit organization dedicated to creating economic opportunity for aspiring developers through job placement and training in technology.


Through our program, we aim to solve two problems:


First, millions of Americans are unemployed, and many more are stuck in low-wage job cycles which leave them struggling to find jobs that offer livable salaries, employable skills, and a chance for advancement.


American businesses also have a problem —there just isn’t enough tech talent to match the growing demand. The US Department of Labor predicts this situation will only worsen, leaving 1 million programming jobs unfilled by 2020.


Back in 2013, Square’s Jim McKelvey cofounded LaunchCode to address these problems. Jim experienced the lack of talent firsthand while trying to get Square started in his hometown of St. Louis, MO. Eventually Jim moved Square to California, but knew there must be some way to connect the city’s rising unemployment with its shortage of tech talent.


LaunchCode was founded in 2013 to help companies find skilled, new tech talent — from all backgrounds and walks of life.


If you’d like to connect and learn more about LaunchCode, please reach out to us at info@launchcode.org.

Our Impact So Far


500+

new jobs

in tech

3000+

people

utilized our mentorship and education resources

2x

increase

in salary for placements

80+

million dollars

put back into the economy

In the Media


Wallstreetjournal
Npr rgb
Stltoday logo
Tc logo
Stl biz journal
Rft logo

Our Staff

Mark Bauer
Executive Director
mark@launchcode.org

Chris Bay
Education Director - Curriculum
chris@launchcode.org

Tiana Berry-Jones
Marketing Manager
tiana@launchcode.org

Megan Conn
Grants Manager
megan@launchcode.org

Kari Fass
Portland Company Relations Manager
kfass@launchcode.org

Brian Feldman
Account Manager
brian@launchcode.org

David Fruchter
Company Relations Manager - Seattle
david@launchcode.org

Kathryn Golden
Community Engagement Manager - Kansas City
kathryn@launchcode.org

Jake Gower
VP of Company Relations
jake@launchcode.org

Shandi Hanna
Community Engagement Manager - Rhode Island
shandi@launchcode.org

Lisa Hare
Candidate Engagement Manager - Seattle
lisa@launchcode.org

Kathy Heffern
Software Engineer
kathy@launchcode.org

Tim Hykes
User Experience Designer
tim@launchcode.org

Amber Johansen
Director of Advancement
amber@launchcode.org

Jacob Kalagian
Business Development Lead
jacob.kalagian@launchcode.org

Ethan Leigh
Finance and Accounting Associate
ethan@launchcode.org

Sally Lemkemeier
Education Associate
slemkemeier@launchcode.org

Crystal Martin
CoderGirl Program Director
crystal@launchcode.org

Paul Matthews
Candidate Engagement Manager - Eastern Offices
paul@launchcode.org

Matt Mawhinney
Company Relations Manager - South Florida
matt@launchcode.org

Rosa Mayer
VP of Market Expansion
rosa@launchcode.org

Jeff Mazur
VP of Partnerships
jeff@launchcode.org

Mike Menne
Director of Technology
mike@launchcode.org

Alex Miller
VP of Advancement
alex@launchcode.org

Dave Morse
Software Engineer
dmorse@launchcode.org

Eliot Piering
Software Engineer
eliot@launchcode.org

Lori Rasmussen
Vice President, People Operations
lori@launchcode.org

Emre Sarbak
VP of Technology
emre@launchcode.org

Cheryl Schaefer
Software Engineer
cheryl@launchcode.org

Haley Shoaf
Education Operations Manager
haley@launchcode.org

Sally Steuterman
Candidate Engagement Manager - Midwestern Offices
sally@launchcode.org

Kelly Sutherland
Company Relations Manager
ksutherland@launchcode.org

Alec Sydlow
HR Associate & Facility Manager
alec@launchcode.org

Scott Thomas
Product Manager
scott@launchcode.org

Rakeem Thomas
Candidate Engagement Manager - South Florida
rakeem@launchcode.org

Lin Wang
Operations Analyst
lin@launchcode.org

Anna Welchman
Company Relations Manager - Kansas City
anna@launchcode.org

Samantha Williams
Public Relations Manager
samantha@launchcode.org

Adam Wilson
Company Relations Manager - National
adam@launchcode.org

Austin Woods
Director of Finance
austin@launchcode.org

Our Board Leadership


Jim McKelvey
Co-founder of Square & Founder of LaunchCode

Robin Carnahan
Former Missouri Secretary of State

Andy Hoyne
Senior Partner at Polsinelli Law Firm

Michael Gallagher
Managing Director at Accenture

Holly Benson
President & CEO, Health Care Enterprises at Centene Corporation